Automate Academy Advanced Concepts Deep Dive
Automate Desktop


Chapter 2 | Advanced Concepts Deep Dive

Learn how to use property inheritance to allow new or existing objects to inherit properties from parent objects. Brigette Matz, Automate Trainer/Consultant, gives you a guided tutorial through Automate Enterprise’s unique approach in the way object properties are stored, managed, and shared. In this video you’ll learn:

  • The five levels of inheritance: The Server, Default Properties, Agent, Workflow, and Task Levels
  • Which inherited properties you can override in each individual level
  • An overview of the structure of Automate’s inheritance hierarchy

Watch this chapter now to learn how to get started.



Brigette:           In Automate Enterprise, object properties are specific settings and preferences that influence the behavior of workflows and tasks, as well as the agents that they operate on. Automate Enterprise encompasses an inheritance engine which employs a unique approach in the way object properties are stored, managed, and shared. Property inheritance essentially [00:00:30] allows new or existing objects to inherit their properties from associated parent objects. Tasks can inherit their properties from the workflow they reside in, and workflows and agents can inherit their properties from the default property specified on the server server. Server inherited properties can be overwritten on a case by case basis within the agent, workflow or task level.

                                Automate Enterprise has five levels of inheritance. First is the server settings. This is the highest level of inheritance and the settings [00:01:00] are global. The second level is the default properties. These affect newly created tasks and workflows, as well as newly connected agents. Next, at the agent level, you can set properties that will override the default properties from the server. The blue down arrow icon indicates inherited item properties that can be overwritten at this level. At the workflow level, inheritance from the server can be overwritten for workflow properties, default task properties, [00:01:30] and workflow item properties such as triggers, conditions, and flow control items. The fifth and final level of inheritance is at the task level. Here you can override any hierarchical inheritance for task priorities, execution, and task error events. To override any of the inherited properties, simply open the item by double clicking and then select Click Here to override them. Then edit the desired properties settings accordingly.

                                [00:02:00] The inheritance hierarchy is structured so that each object takes precedence over the one above it, so as in this diagram, the highest level of precedence is set to the task in the first branch, and is set to the agent in the second branch. In other words, when executing a task, Automate will look first for any property specified at the task or agent level. If inheritance has been overridden at the item level, then Automate will act upon those specified values. If Automate does not detect any overridden properties, it then assumes [00:02:30] the properties which are set at the workflow level, and repeats that process up to the server properties level until all property settings are resolved.


Ready for the next chapter?

Chapter 3: Deploying and Automating Agents